Club History

The Bulldog Club of Connecticut was formed in 1949 and later established in 1952 when the AKC acknowledged it as a club. The first meetings were to discuss its formation and draw up a set of bylaws by the founding members.The club's founders lived primarily in the southeast section of Connecticut. The founding members were:

Mr. & Mrs. Thomas Heath, North Haven, Mr. & Mrs. Hubert Dickerman, Hamden, Col. & Mrs. Edward I. Pratt, Westport, Mrs. Mabel Worthington, Milford, Miss Eleanor Hopcraft, Hamden, Miss Margaret Gussenhoven, Milford, Mr. & Mrs Alfred Phillips, Milford, Mr. David Logan, Stratford, Mrs. Ruth Olsen, West Haven, Mr. & Mrs. Rod Collins, Westport, Miss Sally Collins, Westport, Mr. Rod Collins Jr..Westport.



Vice President


Diane Wallwork
21 Peters Road
Bozrah, CT 06334


Diane Wallwork

Board of Directors

Anna Figueroa
Caroline Haynes
Sandy Montuori
Lynnsie Shea

Newsletter Editor

Past presidents from 1949-1974

  • 1949- 1951 Thomas Heath

  • 1951-1952 George W. Fowler

  • 1952-1953 Harold Lamarine

  • 1953-1955 Conrad Baker

  • 955-1957 Thomas Heath

  • 1957-1958 William Pickett

  • 1958-1959 George W. Fowler

  • 1959-1961 Conrad Baker

  • 1961-1962 Stanley Squinobal

  • 1962-1963 Conrad Baker

  • 1963-1964 John Saunders

  • 1964-1968 Jane Lamarine

  • 1968-1970 William Browne

  • 1970-1972 Warren Burr

  • 1972-1973 James Dundas

The club's first specialty show was held in 1952 and judged by George Beckett

Best of Breed - Ch. Palisades Butcher Girl of Wiggin owned by Robert Robson; Best of Opposite - Ch. Vancouver of Geribar owned by Geraldine & Horace Barnes

Best of Winners; Winners Bitch - Carm-Lee’s Lady Marilyn owned by Carmen Exter

Winners Dog - Pulcifer’s Liddle Widdle owned by Edward Pulcifer